kicking off the 2011 training plan

7 Feb

Today is the start of my official training for the Lake Minnetonka Half Marathon on May 1st. This is the first big event of my 2011 race schedule. Isn’t it crazy to think that 12 weeks from now is May? There is hope that this winter will one day be over!  That is one of the reasons I’m super excited to start training. It means I can start counting down the days until warmer weather. This snow and cold is really getting to me. Anyone else?

So ready to look like this again!

The training program I’m using for the race looks very similar to the plan I used for the Mankato Half Marathon. I followed a tweaked version of Hal Higdon’s intermediate plan. The change I’m making this time is to incorporate specific cross training and strength work. Because I’m doing a duathlon a few weeks after the half, I wanted to make sure I was getting in some bike training as well. I also did not want to ignore strength training. I know that is so helpful to prevent injury and that it will make me a stronger runner. Plus, I’ve been strength training regularly since November and I don’t want to lose the progress I’ve made. I also wanted to incorporate at least one day of yoga. I found yoga so helpful during training this summer. Plus I really enjoy it.  With all of the variety in my plan, it should help prevent burnout.

So, how do I fit everything in and include a rest day?

Here’s what the week will look like:

Monday – Bike (either spin or bike outside) and strength

Tuesday – Speedwork. This alternates between 400’s (starting with 5 and working my way to 10 at the end of training) and tempo runs (ranging from 30-45 minutes). Definitions of

Wednesday – Bike (either spin or bike outside) and strength

Thursday – run (ranging from 3-5 miles as training progresses). Every other week will include hill repeats. On the other week, I’ll run at race pace.

Friday –  yoga or rest day

Saturday – long run. These range from 5-12 miles. however, my first Saturday will be a 5K race to make up for the race that wasn’t.

Sunday – yoga or rest day

The days that include both a bike session and a strength session will be a longer workout, but I’m okay with that. I plan to do 30-45 minutes of strength work followed by a spin class. Hopefully come April, I’ll be able to swap the spin classes for outdoor bike sessions.

So sunny and warm!

Depending on my schedule for the week and how I’m feeling will depict which day I take as a rest day and which day I take yoga.

I am very excited to start training. I’m thrilled that my running buddy, Willa, will be training with me again. It’s so much fun to be able to support each other and to have someone to share the ups and downs of training.

I have not set specific goals for the race yet, but have some strong ideas. I’ll see how the first month or so of training goes before I make them public. :)

What’s going on in your fitness life? Are you training for something? What’s the next thing you’re working towards?

Note: Definitions of 400’s, tempo runs, race pace and long runs can be found here.

7 Responses to “kicking off the 2011 training plan”

  1. Willa February 7, 2011 at 9:30 am #

    I am so excited to officially start training!

  2. Liz February 7, 2011 at 9:58 am #

    Looks like a very balanced training plan! My current plan is also based off Hal’s intermediate plan, but I’ve started slacking on lifting weights. Reading this post is really motivating though! :)

  3. cheryl February 7, 2011 at 7:07 pm #

    Yes, winter is dragging me down. Just got the new Cooks Illustrated…best recipes of 2010. Best wishes on your training. Cheryl

  4. Monica February 8, 2011 at 6:48 am #

    Intermediate/ speed work? wow! i’m impressed! I’m training for a mini marathon (15K) and a sprint tri in April. Mostly, I just like following the schedule. Alan & I do personal training together 1x/week (which I highly recommend for all you couples out there. It is fun to do together and it’s time we would normally be apart).

  5. lindsay February 8, 2011 at 11:19 am #

    I love hal’s plans! I am doing one for a marathon. It is so exciting to start fresh, eh?
    good luck!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. vegan for 40 « She said. She said. - March 9, 2011

    […] change in my energy and weight. I’m also wondering how it will affect my training for the half marathon. I also hope to expand my repertoire of vegan recipes and develop some of my own along the […]

  2. spring training « She said. She said. - March 27, 2011

    […] you are keeping score at home, you know that I am currently training for the Lake Minnetonka Half Marathon on May […]

Leave a Reply

