food for thought: denying the GS cookies

10 Feb

There’s been some controversy brewing in our household lately. On one side of the debate there is me, declaring a ban on Girl Scout cookies from entering our house this year.

My points, for the anti-Girl Scout Cookie position:

1. They are made with nothing but crap.

2. They are not that good.

3. The cost per box is ridiculous.

4. They are made with nothing but crap.

Last year Pat bought 3 or 4 boxes. Two thin mints, one samoas, and one of some random flavor that was new last year. If I remember correctly, we ate the samoas. We ate one box of thin mints over about a 6 month time-span. The second box is still in the freezer. The random new flavor sat in the cupboard for probably 8 months, until one day I made Pat bring it in to work. [As we all know, People At Work are great at getting food items to disappear.] I think my denial of the Girl Scout cookie purchase this year is valid. We don’t want to ingest the 5000 unhealthy chemicals that are in these things, we don’t even really LIKE them, and why spend $$ on something we don’t like, want, or need?

Girl Scout #1 came to the door about a week ago. I answered. She was very polite and cute and pleasant and asked if I’d like to buy some GS cookies. Her father stood behind her on the sidewalk pulling the sled full of cookies. [This must be a new development- instant GS cookie gratification!] I very politely and pleasantly said “we’re not buying any GS cookies this year. Thanks for stopping by, though!” And the girl very politely and pleasantly said “okay, thank you!” and turned to continue her selling journey down the block.

A few days later, Girl Scout #2 rang the bell. Pat was closest to the door. I urged him to stay strong. [He’s a notorious sucker for people coming door-to-door.] She asked if he wanted to buy any cookies. He responded: “no thanks, we’re not buying any this year.” And then he offered to make a donation to the Girl Scouts, which was declined!?!

Pat’s point in the Girl Scout cookie denial argument:

1. It’s mean to deny the Girl Scouts. “I feel like a curmudgeon.”

So, readers. Whose points are more valid, his or mine?

—————–

(footnotes)
It’s Anne writing this post. Hi! I’m here as a contributor.
My senior year in college I did an internship with the Girl Scouts Council.
I admit it: homemade thin mint blizzards are really good.


9 Responses to “food for thought: denying the GS cookies”

  1. Liz February 10, 2011 at 1:08 pm #

    I don’t think there is anything wrong with saying no. I’m sure they get enough yes-es that you aren’t ruining their day.

  2. Jackson February 10, 2011 at 1:39 pm #

    Well Ann, You have some valid points but eating just a few of those cookies isn’t going to kill anyone. Moderation of course is key. I’m surprised that they wouldn’t take the donation because the Girl Scouts do donate cookies to “Meals on Wheels”, etc. so that the donation would be put to good use. I bought cookies this year. Some for my son, who’s seventeen, and eats just about anything and the rest for my co-workers. I know they are not good for me but I do like the Samoas. What can I say? I also agree with Liz.

  3. Ann February 10, 2011 at 8:21 pm #

    I see both sides. I am glad no one has knocked on our door this year….I wouldn’t be able to stay strong.

  4. davidwillisblog February 10, 2011 at 10:56 pm #

    Thin mints are one of the most addictive substances on the planet. I have to stay away from them. I once ate a box and a half in one sitting. Once I woke up from the mint induced haze, I looked at the calorie count. 1800 calories in less than an hour! Can’t do that anymore. I will gladly donate to them, but I try to stay away from the cookies.

    • Pat February 11, 2011 at 8:17 am #

      Hmmmmmmmmmm! I would have offered the donation too, must be a thing about cookies sold have to equal $amount taken in. Guess I’d buy and give them away immediately as I can’t eat “just one” and neither can hubby.

      Now how about those valentine brownies I make every year?
      What to do? what to do?

      Pat

  5. Fav Sista February 13, 2011 at 12:13 pm #

    I am not a GS cookie fan because the cost per cookie ratio continues to baffle me. Cannot justify paying that kind of coin for those kind of cookies. I was raised in a house of homemade cookies. Boxed cookies never jazz me. Now, I can easily turn them down. My husband… he can’t. However, it does not bother me to have them in the house – not tempted as I do agree Ann – made with nothing but crap. I won’t be buying any because I no longer have neices selling them. Whew!

  6. Karen February 16, 2011 at 2:53 pm #

    As a former Girl Scout who had to go door-to-door selling cookies for six years, I always buy GS cookies! I buy partly out of nostalgia, but mostly to support the GS program.

    Regarding the parent who wouldn’t take a donation…perhaps that particular parent didn’t know if they could take donations or not, and just said no because it was the easiest thing to do.

  7. April March 8, 2011 at 4:29 pm #

    I am in charge of Girl Scouts on our military installation overseas. I agree the nutritional arguments about GS cookies. We try to teach our girls moderation in eating sweets.

    However, done properly, selling GS Cookies can teach girls about responsibility, work ethic, etc. Our girls know that this one fundraiser is how we fund our program. Our older girls are taught about the entire process: ordering, money management, advertising, using spreadsheets, handling money, public speaking, etc. More importantly is an opportunity to send goodwill to our deployed service members. Our girls pack and send all the donated cookies to deployed military members with homemade cards. They also donated part of their profits to a military and host nation charity.

    Perhaps your family could support them in one of those ways!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Surly’s Tempest in a Beer Mug and Morning Roundup | The Heavy Table - Minneapolis-St. Paul and Upper Midwest Food Magazine and Blog - February 11, 2011

    […] reasons not to buy Girl Scout cookies, further reflections on the Surly brewery fight from Michael Agnew,  Crispin makes a splash in DC, […]

Leave a Reply

