current inspirations

14 Mar

Have you entered the giveaway? Ends tonight at 5 p.m.!

I’m all of 5 days into vegan lent. So far, I’m loving it. I haven’t had any “cravings” and I’m certainly not starving.

I have shared before my love of cookbooks. In case you need a recap…

I love cookbooks. I own a lot of them. I read them like novels.

You are now caught up.

I thought I’d share the cookbooks that are my inspiration and go-to’s for this vegan challenge.

Clean Food by Terry Waters

cleanfood

This is my newest cookbook and I can’t wait to make just about everything in it. All of the recipes are vegan, but she doesn’t call it a vegan cookbook. It’s really about great recipes made from whole foods that are good for you. Genius.

I recently sampled the coconut pecan cranberry balls (thanks Willa!) and they made the best post-run snack.

Super Natural Cooking by Heidi Swanson

SNC

Heidi is the author of one of my favorite blogs, 101 Cookbooks. This is her first cookbook and she has a second one coming out next month that I’ve already pre-ordered. I’ve never been disappointed with her recipes. Seriously, they’ve all been fantastic. This cookbook has both vegetarian and vegan options. I’m only bummed I didn’t order it sooner!

Moosewood Restaurant Cooking for Health

Moosewood

This has been a favorite of mine for awhile. I’ve made a lot of great recipes from this book. Most recently the Spanish Stew with Romesco Sauce. Talk about making vegan sound sexy!  There are many other winning recipes in here.

Veganomicon by Isa Chandra Moskowitz and Terry Romero

veganomicon

I don’t make nearly as many recipes in here as I’d hoped because many of them tend to be complicated. However, there are many gems and when I have more time, I love diving into this one. I’ve featured a couple recipes from the book here: chickpea cutlets and the cashew pineapple quinoa stir-fry. Both are family favorites. This cookbook is also a really fun read as the authors have a great sense of humor.

What are you reading? What cookbook inspires you?

4 Responses to “current inspirations”

  1. Willa March 14, 2011 at 9:41 am #

    I agree that Clean Food is a great book; the recipes are delicious and simple. Super Natural Cooking is amazing and beautiful. They are definitely must-have books.

  2. Brittney March 14, 2011 at 9:53 am #

    I have a different Moosewood cookbook and love it. I have a couple other vegetarian cookbooks, but that one is my favorite and I always come back to it :)

  3. Monica March 14, 2011 at 10:02 am #

    i’ve heard good things about ‘how it all vegan.” And it has this recipe which is awesome. http://www.food.com/recipe/chocolate-pudding-cake-vegan-401907

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. coconut cranberry pecan balls « She said. She said. - March 29, 2011

    […] are also from my new favorite cookbook and vegan lent inspiration, Clean Food by Terry […]

Leave a Reply

