classic pot roast and roasted vegetables

20 Feb

There are certain things that get me through the long cold days of February. Oscar movie season, copious amounts of tea, and a good pot roast.

This is the easiest way to make pot roast. It does not require searing meat in a pan or even turning on the stove. All it takes is that kitchen appliance that most Minnesotans own.

The Crock Pot.

There is nothing more satisfying than coming home from work with dinner pretty much done and the house smelling great. I love that.

All you need to do is add a side  (I would suggest a roasted vegetable medley  below) and a salad and you have an awesome dinner that will make your family, guests, or just yourself very happy.

The first time I wanted to make a pot roast, I wasn’t sure where to start, so I did what I always do in those situations. I called my mother.  She is always my first call when I have a cooking related question. In fact, that is the first thing out of her mouth when I call. “Do you have a cooking question?” Followed by a cute little giggle….which makes me giggle. I know she loves it when I call with cooking questions. I love that she loves it.

Here was her advice when I called about the pot roast. “Oh, I would just throw it in the crock pot with some onions, garlic, salt, pepper, and some Worcestershire sauce and turn it on low for as long as you can stand it.”

Me: “No browning? No beef broth? No de-glazing?”

Her: “Why bother  – it’ll be perfect this way.Trust me.”

Of course she was right, it was delicious and I’ve made my roast like that every time since.

What cut of meat to you use? I think chuck roast is best.   If you are from a hunting family like myself, you could substitute a venison or elk roast (which is what I did this last time), but try find one with some fat marbling to it – that’s where the flavor is at.

I love the garlic chunks!

Classic Pot Roast

From a phone conversation with my mother

Note: I put mine together the night before in and refrigerate over night. It does not matter if your roast is not all the way thawed prior to turning on the crock pot.

1 2-5 lb chuck roast (plan on 1/2 lb per person and know that the leftovers are fabulous)

1  onion, chopped or sliced depending on your preference. (I use whatever color onion I have on hand)

8-12 cloves of garlic, peeled (don’t worry, they mellow out big time)

1 Tbsp Worcestershire sauce

Salt and Pepper

Place roast in a large crock pot (mine is a 5-qt). season well with salt and pepper. Splash on worcestershire sauce. Add onion and garlic.

Turn the crock pot on low and cook for 8-12 hours (depends on your work day and the size of the roast) or as my mother would say, as long as you can stand it.

Serve with roasted vegetables (below) and a lettuce salad of your choice.

Roasted Vegetables

Note: I use whatever I have or looks good. This is one of my favorite mixes.The key is to cut all the vegetables into similar sizes.

2 medium size yukon gold potatoes, medium diced

1 medium to large sweet potato, medium diced

1 medium turnip, medium diced

1 large carrot, medium diced

1 large parsnip, medium diced

1 Tbsp olive oil

2 Tbsp chopped fresh rosemary (thyme would also work)

Salt and pepper

Preheat oven to 425.

Combine all the vegetables with olive oil, rosemary, salt and pepper and spread out in a roasting pan. Roast at 425 for 30-45 minutes depending on how brown you like your vegetables. I tend to go a full 45.

While your veggies are roasting, toss the salad and open the wine.  Tell everyone that you spent all day on the roast.

Hopefully it helps get through this long month (albeit the shortest month of the year).

6 Responses to “classic pot roast and roasted vegetables”

  1. Jackson February 20, 2010 at 11:36 pm #

    I just did a pot roast in the slow cooker last week.
    I threw potatoes and carrots in with the roast and a can of beef broth. Yum!

  2. Willa February 21, 2010 at 8:59 am #

    Yum! I can’t wait to try it this way.

  3. Heather Campbell February 22, 2010 at 8:12 pm #

    This is exactly what I need to warm up the soul as the temps begin to drop again…..thanks for the inspiration!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. February 22 Recipe Roundup « The Heavy Table – Minneapolis-St. Paul and Upper Midwest Food Magazine and Blog - February 22, 2010

    […] spice bread, baked penne with two sauces, cherry almond puff, classic pot roast, yogurt from scratch, poblano spinach quesadilla, vintage fudge cake, chocolate peanut butter […]

  2. Pot Roast Recipes Galore: A selection of the Best Pot Roast Recipes by Bloggers | Pot Roast Host - Internet's Biggest Pot Roast Recipes Resource - October 26, 2010

    […] on the list is another classic pot roast and roasted vegetables recipe. Again, a great and thorough list of instruction that could be very helpful if you have a […]

  3. meatless monday: root vegetable hash « She said. She said. - November 22, 2010

    […] cookbook, I knew I would enjoy it. I liked that it was a bit different preparation than my go-to roasted root vegetables. This would not require the oven at all, which makes it a great side dish if your oven is full of […]

Leave a comment