nutty granola

8 Mar

I have talked about Brette’s love of granola before, but let me sum up.

He eats granola every morning for breakfast and then sometimes as a snack. He loves it. It trumps the Raisin Bran that he ate for breakfast for the 10 years prior to granola.  I make granola every weekend (and always a double batch) for him and I love knowing he’s getting the good stuff. Plus, I love having it around for a sprinkle on my yogurt and of course, a few pieces right out of the oven.

I’ve posted two different recipes for granola here; the summer version (no oven necessary) and the winter version. The winter has been the mainstay for awhile, but I try something new for fun every once in awhile. Usually Brette tells me, “it’s good, but not as good as the other (winter) stuff”.

Until now. I’ve been playing around with Alton Brown’s granola for the past few weeks and now have a version that Brette loves just as much (if not more) than the winter version. This granola is a bit nuttier than other versions and I even cut back on some of the nuts. The coconut adds a nice texture and it has just the right level of sweetness. Plus, it’s vegan!

Nutty Granola

adapted from Alton Brown

Makes about 5 cups and is very easy to double.

Notes: This recipe begs to be altered. I used a different nut and fruit each time I made it, including macadamia, pecans, walnuts, almonds (chopped, sliced and slivered), cashews and combinations of all of them. Use your favorites.

The brown rice syrup gives it a little bit of that clump factor, which I love. However, if you don’t have it or can’t find it, you can substitute more maple syrup. I have found it at both Whole Foods and my local co-op.

Alton’s version measures everything in ounces, which makes it super easy to do in one bowl without measuring cups. However, I know the majority of people don’t have a kitchen scale, so I converted into cups.

2 cups rolled oats

1 3/4 cups chopped nuts

1/2 cup unsweetened coconut flakes (or shredded – whatever you can find)

1/2 cup packed brown sugar

1/4 cup ground flaxseed

3/4 tsp. salt

1/4 cup canola oil (could substitute coconut or vegetable oil)

1/4 cup maple syrup

1/4 cup brown rice syrup

1/2 cup dried fruit (optional)

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 250 degrees.

Mix oats through salt in a large bowl.

Combine oil, and both syrups. You may need to heat up the brown rice syrup a bit to stir with the others. Pour over oat mixture and stir to combine.  Spread out on a baking sheet ( no need to spray).
Bake for 1 hour and 15 minutes, stirring every 15 minutes.

Transfer granola to a large bowl and let cool for 30 minutes.  Mix in dried fruit. Store in airtight container for up to two weeks.

Our double batch doesn’t last a week thanks to my ultra metabolic machine of a husband.

One Response to “nutty granola”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Blood Orange-Kumquat Marmalade and Recipe Roundup | The Heavy Table - Minneapolis-St. Paul and Upper Midwest Food Magazine and Blog - March 9, 2011

    […] and shiitake mushrooms congee, chili verde hotdish, five-spice beef kabobs, nutty granola, blood orange-kumquat marmalade, and mojo marinated pork cubano. » Blood Orange-Kumquat […]

Leave a comment