freezer gods

28 Oct

I like to freeze things. Most of the time I need to freeze things. I like to cook and I often make more than Brette and I can handle in any given week. So, I freeze things.

This comes in handy on nights where I don’t have time to cook or weeks where I need some easy lunches. Enter the freezer gods. I simply take a quart of leftover lentil soup (or something equally yummy) out of the freezer, defrost and enjoy.

This week I took some leftover vegetable curry out for dinner. All I had to do was make some rice and I had a complete meal. As I was fishing for the curry, I realized I had some unidentifiables in my freezer. This led to taking a seat on the floor (I have a bottom freezer – world’s best invention), taking everything out of the freezer,  reorganizing and moving a lot of it to our chest freezer in the basement. 20 minutes later my freezer looked much better. Let’s not talk about the chest freezer in the basement.

What did I find that I had no idea I had and/or what it was?

  • 3 year old pheasants – those went in the trash
  • 2 small containers of a white substance – after defrosting, I realized it was egg whites. Those went into the next day’s oatmeal.
  • 1 small container oven roasted tomatoes. I thought I was out of those so that was a major bonus.
  • approximately 23 ripe bananas – I see baked goods in my future
  • wild turkey breasts from by my father-in-law – anyone ever cooked those before? I need some ideas.
  • 15 containers of homemade pesto – why have I not been using it? Urg.
  • breakfast sausage so old it didn’t look like breakfast sausage anymore – trash

Tell me I’m not the only one this happens to. Please?

What have you found in your freezer that was interesting? Do you have a meal that freezes beautifully (Steel Magnolias anyone?)?  Please share one or the other or both so I know I’m not the only one who is freezer obsessed.

6 Responses to “freezer gods”

  1. Ann October 28, 2010 at 4:19 pm #

    My husband is in charge of the freezer. He cleans it out often and organizes it. I get in trouble if something is not labeled…..I get in trouble often.

  2. anne October 28, 2010 at 8:47 pm #

    I recently cleaned out/reorganized my freezer too. Amongst the things thrown away: Mr. Freeze pops left over from when I was teaching (over three years old- I’m sure they don’t go bad but I’m not letting the kid eat them), unidentifiable freezer burned meat, freezer burned hamburger buns… I always keep a freezer burned bag of frozen vegetables around though- works great as an ice pack in case of a wound.

  3. Colin October 29, 2010 at 8:52 am #

    20 quarts of freshly roasted Big Jim New Mexico chiles…one last blueberry mini waffle…frozen chicken breasts….15 pints of raspberries (yay smoothies!)…2 2/3 (?) bags of shelled edamame…1 quart peaches…Trader Joes pizza…1.75 liter vodka bottle…:-)

    • jen October 31, 2010 at 8:47 am #

      Jealous of the raspberries!

  4. cheryl October 29, 2010 at 5:12 pm #

    I make extra lasagna meat and freeze in batches for two lasagnas and when I put them together, I often freeze one lasagna. Freeze chili for lunches, fruit…I bake and freeze homemade pumpkin for pies…it has the best texture. I did make some homemade salsa, and unthawed it for pumpkin once so labeling works best. Also freeze spaghetti sauce when I have all the fresh basil..

    • jen October 31, 2010 at 8:48 am #

      I remember you telling me a long time ago about cooking up your own pumpkin and i’ve been doing it ever since. It’s so goo! Thanks Cheryl.

Leave a comment