indian tomato chickpea soup

5 Jan

I love soup.

Especially when it’s 20 below outside and I can’t seem to keep warm no matter how hard I try. Soup is always my go-to meal list in this kind of weather. It’s just so soul-warming. With the weather we’ve been having here in Minnesota, we’ve been eating a ton of soups, stews and chili’s.

This is one of my favorites because it is literally ready in 20 minutes. You can even throw a quick salad together while it cooks.

I’ve never been a huge fan of a traditional tomato soup. This version puts a different spin on it and I find it more exciting and interesting. I hope you do too!

If you have any veg-heads in the house, it’s easy to make vegetarian or vegan by using vegetable broth.

This is excellent served with toasted pita bread for dipping….or a grilled cheese sandwich…or some homemade croutons. Lots of options people.

It tastes even better if you’re curled up on the couch with the dog keeping your feet warm. I’m serious. I’ve tried it both ways and it’s much better with the dog at my feet.

Indian Tomato Chickpea Soup

adapted from Rachael Ray

Note: start with 1/4 tsp. cardamom if you’re not sure of the flavor. It’s very distinct. I like it, so I go with a 1/2 tsp or more, but ease into it if you’re a rookie.

Ingredients:

2 tsp. olive oil

2 garlic cloves, minced

1 small onion, chopped

2, 15 oz. cans chickpeas (garbanzo beans), drained and rinsed

2 tsp. cumin

1/4 -1/2 tsp. cardamom (see above note)

1/2 tsp. tumeric

1 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. pepper

1, 28 oz can fire roasted diced (or crushed) tomatoes (with the juices). I prefer Muir Glen.

2 C. chicken or vegetable broth

Instructions:

Heat olive oil in a medium to large dutch oven or soup pot on medium to high heat. Add garlic and onion and saute for 5 minutes or until soft.

Add chickpeas and cook for about 3 minutes until they are starting to soften.

Add spices and stir for 1 minute. (see note on cardamom)

Add tomatoes and broth and scrape up any brown goodness on the bottom of the pan.  Cook for 5- 10 minutes for flavors to blend. (or until you have rotated the laundry and emptied the dishwasher – that’s what I did).

Now the fun part. Kitchen power tools.

I blend this with my immersion blender. A regular blender or food processor will also work but won’t be as much fun. Just warning you.

Here’s what it looks like before.

How fun this is!

Ta-da! It took about 2 minutes and I felt all powerful doing it.

I tend to leave a few chickpeas whole as they are a nice find as you are eating it. That’s just me though. Feel free to blend thoroughly.

Serve with a dollop of plain yogurt if you are so inclined. It adds a nice tang. It will also reheat beautifully for leftovers the next day.

Stay warm everyone!

4 Responses to “indian tomato chickpea soup”

  1. Fav Sista January 5, 2010 at 5:17 pm #

    Ooooh, now I want soup! Heading to get groceries tonight so adding these ingredients to my list! I’m feeling a bit bummed as I don’t have a dog to warm my feet while I eat the soup. I’ll have to settle for an afghan (the crochet kind, not the dog:0)

  2. Fav Sista January 8, 2010 at 9:14 am #

    Hey Jen, I made this soup last night for dinner. I loved it! Kate loved it! Gary liked it. I think it will be better today – soup is always better the next day, don’t you think? It was very easy to make and I loved the smell of the spices – yum!

  3. OliePants October 28, 2010 at 4:52 pm #

    I love tomato soup – and I’m sure the addition of chickpeas would just make the flavor that much better!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. January 6 Recipe Roundup « The Heavy Table - January 6, 2010

    […] with lemon herb sauce, chicken parmesan, chocolate chip banana bread, cranberry date orange bread, Indian tomato chickpea soup, apricot ginger oatmeal, and chicken stew. var addthis_pub = "heavytable"; var addthis_options = […]

Leave a comment