pumpkin oatmeal

30 Sep

Today was a picture perfect fall day. Temperatures were in the high 60’s to low 70’s, there was a nice breeze and the sun was shining brightly. Today was one of those days where I am so happy to live where I live and enjoy a day like this. I don’t want fall to end!

I know the cold harsh winter is on its way (No!), but until then, I tend to cherish every moment of this beautiful fall weather. Today I celebrated by going on a challenging bike ride. I’m swapping one of my run days for biking in effort to heal my injured ankle. Speaking of the ankle, after a couple trips to the wonderful Dr. Kari, it has been determined that it is not my tendon but my ligaments. Good news: it’s not going to kill me and I will be able to do the half marathon in 4 weeks (OMG!). Bad news: ligaments take longer to heal than tendons. Hence, the bike. It was a fabulous day for a ride! In fact, I didn’t once wish I was running. It was nice to have a change of pace and just go all out on the bike.

I digress. Back to fall. Fall is by far my favorite season. I love the weather, the leaves, and the food that comes along with it. I’m a big fan of soups, stews, and anything warm and comforting that I can eat while wearing cozy pants.

One of my favorite ingredients during the fall months (heck, all year really) is pumpkin. I love everything about pumpkin …. well, except one thing. Pie. I really do not like pumpkin pie. I’m not sure why as I love everything else with pumpkin in it. One of those quirky things about me.

Currently, I’ve been enjoying pumpkin oatmeal. As you may know, I’m a big fan of oatmeal. The pumpkin version of oatmeal is super easy and such a treat. It screams fall. Please try it. It’ll make you a believer.

Pumpkin Oatmeal for One

Note: You can do this either on the stove top or in the microwave. If I use the microwave, I opt for quick cooking oats and if I’m using the stove top, I use regular rolled oats.

1/2 cup oats (quick cooking or regular are both fine)

3/4 cups water

1/3 cup canned pumpkin (not pumpkin pie filling). I use Libby’s, but you can use any kind you fancy.

1/4 cup milk (cow, soy or almond)

1/2 tsp. cinnamon or pumpkin pie spice

1 tbsp. maple syrup or brown sugar (Honey, agave, or plain sugar are fine too. Maple Syrup is my favorite.)

Microwave:

Combine oats and water and cook in a large bowl (so it doesn’t boil over) and microwave for 1 minute. Add pumpkin and milk and cook for another minute or until it is at desired consistency. Add cinnamon or pumpkin pie spice and syrup and any additional toppings. Enjoy!

Stove top:

Combine oats and water and cook over low heat until most of the water is absorbed, stirring often. Add pumpkin and milk and cook until it is at desired consistency (about 3-5 minutes). Pour into a bowl and add spice and syrup and any additional add-toppings. Enjoy!

To jazz it up even more, try topping your oats with one or more of the following:

  • toasted walnuts, pecans or other nut of choice
  • flax seeds or chia seeds (my latest obsession)
  • a dollop of greek yogurt or more milk
  • dried cranberries
  • banana slices

Question: What are you excited to eat now that it’s fall? Any fall recipes you’d like to see?

12 Responses to “pumpkin oatmeal”

  1. Monica September 30, 2010 at 8:33 pm #

    I just made chicken noodle soup in the crockpot. I bought split pea soup but I’m excited to make that and/or lentil soup. Also, chili. I’ve been telling my husband all summer that it’s too hot for lasagna so I think I have to make it now.

    • jen October 1, 2010 at 8:26 am #

      That all sounds awesome. I’ve been jonesing for chili so I think that is next.

  2. Ann October 1, 2010 at 7:10 am #

    Yum..thanks Jen, I will try

  3. Fav Sista October 1, 2010 at 8:21 am #

    Just made a crock of chili last weekend so that is the start of our fall foods. I tried the pumpkin oatmeal before and was on the fence with it. I will try again and follow direction to the T as I am sure I adlibbed on my previous try. Pumpkin has been sparce on the grocery shelves but I hear it should be returning full force this year so I certainly will stock up. I love pumpkin – pies, bars, bread, muffins. How can I not like the pumpkin oatmeal? I will try it again as you make it look so darn awesome! Thanks for sharing!

  4. Fav Sista October 1, 2010 at 8:23 am #

    One question ~ where do you get your Chia Seed? Is Chia seed the result of two Chia pets getting together? tee-hee

    • jen October 1, 2010 at 8:27 am #

      I get my chia seeds at the co-op. They are actually the same seeds that feed a chia pet – crazy, huh? So far, my hair hasn’t turned green.

  5. Steff October 1, 2010 at 9:06 am #

    You know what else is really good? Plain yogurt with pumpkin and some honey…and maybe some granola. I mean, seriously.

    I reeeeally want to try the chia seeds. I have heard all about them in “Born to Run” (which I loved, even though that barefoot craze is weird) and on health/food blogs. BUT: can you tell me if they are crunchy or gummy/sticky? I am worried about the texture! And don’t want to buy a whole bag unless I know they don’t turn gummy.

    Glad to hear you can run the race!

    • jen October 1, 2010 at 9:28 am #

      Agreed – pumpkin yogurt is awesome. When I use chia seeds, I sprinkle them on top of things and they stay pretty crunchy. If you grind them or let them soak for a long time, they become gummy, but they are so small, it has never bothered me. At the co-op I go to, they have them in bulk. Is there a place in D.C. that might have them in bulk? Then you could try a little bit and see if you like it.

  6. Kris October 2, 2010 at 8:30 am #

    I’m not an oatmeal fan myself, but my mom is, making herself a bowl nearly every morning. She’s into easy, easy so I sent your recipe off to her as I think she’ll really enjoy it.

    I’ve recently come around to greek yogurt and have been enjoying it with some dried dates and a dash of maple syrup. Yum!

    You can also make your own pumpkin super easy. Buy a pumpkin (don’t worry if it’s one of the larger ones you could actually carve – it will work FINE), scoop out the seeds (& of course roast them seperately), chop in half, and bake at 350 until the halves are starting to cave in. Cool slightly so you can take the skin off, puree the flesh in the food processor, portion, and freeze.

    • jen October 2, 2010 at 5:13 pm #

      Great idea – thanks Kris!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pumpkin Oatmeal for One and Morning Roundup | The Heavy Table - Minneapolis-St. Paul and Upper Midwest Food Magazine and Blog - October 1, 2010

    […] fruit skillet tart; pumpkin oatmeal for one; a caramel apple tart; creamy baked cabbage with garlic, thyme and white wine; and grilled Moroccan […]

  2. stocking the kitchen: pantry « She said. She said. - March 1, 2011

    […] situations). Again, buy in bulk. Oats are freaky cheap. In addition, I have canned pumpkin (for pumpkin oats of course), cinnamon, chia seeds and cocoa […]

Leave a comment