meatless monday: tuscan vegetable soup

15 Nov

I have a go-to soup that I like to make quite often. Yup- surprise, surprise- it’s an Ellie Krieger recipe! It’s in her cookbook The Food You Crave. I just made it the other day, and looky here I even managed to take a couple pictures before the baby woke up screaming and the other kid garlic-pressed garlic all over my opened cookbook.

Tuscan Vegetable Soup– Ellie Krieger

Ingredients

  • 1 (15-ounce) can low-sodium canellini beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1/2 large onion, diced (about 1 cup)
  • 2 carrots, diced (about 1/2 cup)
  • 2 stalks celery, diced, (about 1/2 cup)
  • 1 small zucchini, diced (about 1 1/2 cups)
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 tablespoon chopped fresh thyme leaves (or 1 teaspoon dried)
  • 2 teaspoons chopped fresh sage leaves (or 1/2 teaspoon dried)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 32 ounces low-sodium chicken broth or vegetable broth
  • 1 (14.5-ounce) can no salt added diced tomatoes
  • 2 cups chopped baby spinach leaves
  • 1/3 cup freshly grated Parmesan, optional

Directions

In a small bowl mash half of the beans with a masher or the back of a spoon, and set aside. {I like to leave more than half of the beans whole.} Heat the oil in a large soup pot over medium-high heat. Add the onion, carrots, celery, zucchini, garlic, thyme, sage, 1/2 teaspoon of salt and 1/4 teaspoon of pepper, and cook stirring occasionally until the vegetables are tender, about 5 minutes.

{raw veggies just added to the pot}

{here are the veggies once they’ve cooked. I always cook them awhile longer than it says here to be sure they’re tender. I find you could use a little more oil, too.}

Add the broth and tomatoes with the juice and bring to a boil. Add the mashed and whole beans and the spinach leaves and cook until the spinach is wilted, about 3 minutes more.

{I’ve always made this recipe with the ingredients listed, but you could definitely substitute different veggies. This time I didn’t have any spinach so I used cabbage instead. It was a heartier touch than the spinach usually is. Oh, and I’ve always used chicken broth in mine.}

{the finished soup}

Serve topped with Parmesan, if desired.

{I always serve mine topped with parmesan, and with a side of crusty bread.}

***********

Last year on this date: bullet point Sunday by Anne

15 Responses to “meatless monday: tuscan vegetable soup”

  1. lochgarry November 16, 2010 at 7:57 pm #

    Thanks for this recipe. I am always looking for a new soup creation, especially vegetarian.

  2. jen November 16, 2010 at 8:55 pm #

    I haven’t made this in awhile, but now need to add it to the list. It’s one of my favorites.

  3. Marge Cirinelli November 17, 2010 at 8:41 am #

    This looks great! And I have the cookbook! I’m definitely going to make this, thanks for the pics:)

  4. Debi November 17, 2010 at 11:18 am #

    Yum! This sounds really good. We’re big soup fans, especially when the autumn weather sets in like it has this week. Gonna give your recipe a try this weekend. Thanks for sharing. :-)

  5. pm27 November 17, 2010 at 11:38 am #

    Soup looks delish!

    Will try soon!

    Patricia
    http://pm27.wordpress.com/

  6. Needles&Bread November 17, 2010 at 11:56 am #

    Nothing beats a good vegetable soup on a blustery day. I would throw in some potatoes or some orzo or barlsy to satisfy my constant desire for starch.

    Also, your images are beautiful and dutch ovens were the best thing that ever happened to my soup making.

    • anne November 17, 2010 at 3:52 pm #

      Thanks for the compliment on the photos. It’s so hard for me to take pictures when I cook, but adds a lot to blog posts, I think!

      • Needles&Bread November 18, 2010 at 11:33 am #

        Without a doubt! I decided I had to cut back on photographing while I was cooking because it was distracting me from what I liked about cooking. Now I just snap photos when I have the chance or when I notice something that makes me want to photograph it. That last photo with the steam rising, though, is just lovely.

  7. janemaynard November 17, 2010 at 12:10 pm #

    hi there! just wanted to let you know we featured this post on the FoodPress.com homepage today. your photos are really nice and the soup looks fab! thanks! jane

    • anne November 17, 2010 at 3:52 pm #

      Thanks for featuring us!

  8. Rachel Raczka November 17, 2010 at 3:41 pm #

    That looks so yummy. I can’t wait to make it once it gets a little chillier out. And yes, it definitely needs some crusty bread.

  9. Babygirl November 17, 2010 at 5:13 pm #

    Really cool recipe

  10. rosebeezy November 18, 2010 at 10:22 am #

    Definitely want to try this out!

  11. Oriana December 2, 2010 at 5:19 am #

    it’s like ribollita without the bread! great pics
    see you in Tuscany!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tiramisu as Big as You and Recipe Roundup | The Heavy Table - Minneapolis-St. Paul and Upper Midwest Food Magazine and Blog - November 16, 2010

    […] three bean chili; tiramisu as big as you; cranberry-almond granola recipe; gnocchi in a flash; and Tuscan vegetable soup. » Tiramisu as Big as You and Recipe Roundup » Print Version // […]

Leave a comment