baked shrimp with tomatoes and feta

20 Oct

I completed my last training run tonight, a 30 minute tempo run. I felt awesome and strong. I’m ready for the race…in 2 days!

IMG_7642

This morning I wasn’t feeling quite so confident. You see, Brette was sick yesterday. I felt so bad for him! He’s racing on Saturday as well and I know this was not in his race week plan. I was also super nervous that I would catch whatever bug he had.  I’ve been following my race week plan to a T, but I needed to step it up a notch. I went into prevention mode today. I drank fluids like it was my job including honey ginger green tea, Echinacea immune boosting tea, orange vitamin water with 100% vitamin C, and of course, water. In addition, I took some zicam, drank a smoothie with red romaine lettuce, amazing grass chocolate superfood, almond milk, banana, blueberries and peanut flour (I promise it was delicious), and tried to rest when I could. So far I feel good and even more importantly, Brette is feeling much better too. The last time I asked him, he felt he was at 92%.

I think it is extremely important to bump up the nutrition when you’re sick (or fearful you might be). Tonight I made one of our favorite dishes that covers all the bases of nutrition and happens to be easy to make and is super tasty to boot. This baked shrimp dish is from Ellie Krieger’s, The Food You Crave, which is a She said. She said. favorite.  Seriously, you should have this book. This recipe is one I have made a number of times and it always results in happy tummies. What’s not to like? Shrimp, tomatoes and feta are an awesome combination. I serve it over whole wheat couscous, but it would also be good over orzo pasta or rice. You definitely want something to soak up the yummy juices.

IMG_7651

Baked Shrimp with Tomatoes and Feta

adapted from Ellie Krieger

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 medium onion, diced (about 1 1/2 cups)
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced (about 2 teaspoons)
  • 1 (28-ounce) can of fire-roasted diced tomatoes, with their juices (regular diced tomatoes would be fine too)
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 1 pound shrimp, peeled and deveined  (I’ve used all sizes with success)
  • 1/4 cup chopped flat-leaf parsley
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 2/3 cup crumbled feta cheese (about 3 ounces)

Directions

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees F.

Heat the oil in an oven proof skillet over a medium-high heat. Add the onion and cook, stirring, until softened, about 3 minutes, then add the garlic and cook for 1 minute. Add the tomatoes and oregano and bring to a boil. Reduce the heat to medium-low and let simmer for about 5 minutes, until the tomato juices thicken.

Remove from the heat. Stir in the shrimp and parsley and season with salt and pepper. Sprinkle the feta over the top. Bake until the shrimp are cooked through and cheese melts, about 12 minutes.

_MG_7646

While you’re making this, I’m going to go make another cup of tea.

I will not get sick!

2 Responses to “baked shrimp with tomatoes and feta”

  1. cheryl October 21, 2010 at 9:15 pm #

    Good luck on your race…remember the Universe does not hear “not” so saying you are well…I am well will get you there. Happy running.

  2. JinAtSmilely October 26, 2010 at 3:00 pm #

    The baked shrimp looks delicious! I’m working with Zicam – thanks for the shoutout! Visit http://bit.ly/aZLzSy for $2 off.

Leave a comment