fresh cranberry salsa

2 Dec

I love cranberries. I wish they were a year round fruit. Since now is the season for them, I pick up a bag every time I’m at the grocery store and throw them in the freezer. They freeze beautifully, so you can always have them on hand when you want to make muffins, breads, cakes….and salsa!

Last year when I was proclaiming my love for cranberries, Anne’s mom, Karen, gave me this recipe. It is now one of my favorites and I will forever be grateful to Karen. Every time I make it, I get asked for the recipe. People will like you when you make it and I think that’s pretty sweet.

I first introduced this to Brette’s family last Thanksgiving and it was a winner. Every person that tried it that weekend, asked for the recipe. Okay, so not including Brette’s brothers, but I don’t think they really factor in here since a) they don’t cook and b) they don’t like vegetables or “weird” fruit.

This year over Thanksgiving weekend, two of us made it (obviously we did not talk before hand) to have at the house and it was a good thing. One batch would not have been enough.

This is one of those dishes that gets better as it sits, so it’s a perfect make-ahead item for your next potluck or holiday gathering.Plus, it is down right beautiful so it will dress up any buffet.

Prepping the veg

Fresh Cranberry Salsa

From Anne’s mom, Karen

Note: You may be tempted to process everything in the food processor. Don’t. It turns into juice. You need a little texture and crunch in this.


1-(12 oz) pkg fresh cranberries– Clean
2-finely diced large stalks of celery
1-finely diced small (or 1/2 of a medium) white or red onion
1-jalapeno pepper–seeded and minced
1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro
1/2 teaspoon kosher or sea salt
3/4 cup sugar
3-tablespoons fresh lime juice—(bottled if you’re in a pinch)

Process cranberries in food processor (or chop in a food chopper) until coarsely chopped. Transfer to bowl, add remaining ingredients. Stir
to combine. Do ahead at least 24 hours. Stir several times during the 24 hours to mix ingredients together so
the sugar gets dissolved. (I usually forget to do this and it still turns out great, so don’t sweat it.)

Serve with tortilla chips or really anything that can be used as a shovel to get this salsa into your mouth.

7 Responses to “fresh cranberry salsa”

  1. emily (a nutritionist eats) December 3, 2010 at 1:13 pm #

    I love this idea! Sounds so bright and flavorful!

  2. Brianna Isaacsn December 3, 2010 at 2:20 pm #

    Jen! My Mom made this a few weekends ago and we all loved it- I think she’s made it twice more since then and is bringing it to a Christmas party tonight!
    It’s soooo good!!

  3. Jackson December 3, 2010 at 3:14 pm #

    Wow! I was at a dinner party on Wednesday night and was just telling someone (I’ll drop a name – Pat Evans from
    Kare 11) about the cranberry salsa and I told him I would get him the recipe. I was just going to look it up today. I am also making it for Sunday dinner at the in-laws. It is delicious. Thanks!

    • Grandma B December 3, 2010 at 7:30 pm #

      I don’t remember where I got the recipe, but I have never made it. Maybe I will have to give it a try. Thanks for reminding me.

  4. anne December 5, 2010 at 10:55 pm #

    Cran salsa gets two thumbs up from me. Delish!

  5. Fav Sista December 10, 2010 at 8:11 pm #

    Just whipped up a batch for a Christmas party tomorrow night. Tasted it – really good so can only imagine how it will taste by then! thanks!~

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Wassail and Recipe Roundup | The Heavy Table - Minneapolis-St. Paul and Upper Midwest Food Magazine and Blog - December 3, 2010

    […] cookies, winter soup, wassail, and fresh cranberry salsa. » Wassail and Recipe Roundup » Print Version // » Leave a […]

Leave a comment