food for thought: food aversions

11 Nov

Yes, this week’s FFT is very similar to last week’s. But today we’re talking about food aversions. As in, foods you hate, can’t touch, won’t go near with a ten foot pole. Maybe you were hit with a bad case of the stomach flu after eating Grandma’s lasagna. Or you came down with food poisoning after dining at a particular restaurant. Perhaps your aversion developed during pregnancy, and never went away. Or maybe you overindulged in a certain something for way too long, and now can never eat it again. Whatever the case may be, tell us about it! We’d love to hear your food aversions this week!!

As for ours…

Anne: I actually blogged about this a year ago. You can read the whole story here- why I hate meatballs. My number one food aversion is meatballs. I’m also very averse to sweaty cheese. Again, just go back and read the meatball story. Last week a few commenters brought up oysters. I have never even come close to eating an oyster. I have no clue what it would taste like. But the mere thought of allowing such a slippery, scary thing from the sea to touch my lips and slip down my throat makes me want to gag. [Yes, that’s what she said. PAT.]

Jen: I am a pretty adventurous eater and will try pretty much anything. There are things I don’t care for, but really only one thing that makes me run. Sloppy joe’s. I know! Who doesn’t like sloppy joe’s? Back when I was around 8, we were visiting my grandparents and she had made sloppy joe’s. I thought they were fantastic so I ate a lot of them (3 or 4 maybe?). I proceeded to be sick all afternoon…..really sick. Ever since then, the smell of sloppy joe’s makes my stomach churn and makes me think of my afternoon in grandma’s bathroom.

So, let us hear it. What is your food aversion?

****************

Last year: Jen positively ranted about hummus

6 Responses to “food for thought: food aversions”

  1. Mellissa November 11, 2010 at 9:21 am #

    I HATE green peppers, the smell, the taste and the texture. Just thinking about it make me shiver!

    • jen November 11, 2010 at 11:39 am #

      What about other color peppers? I prefer red/orange/yellow, but I don’t mind the green ones either.

  2. Kristi S November 11, 2010 at 9:52 am #

    American cheese. It is pretty much the only food in the whole world that I cannot eat under any circumstances. Just thinking about it makes me want to puke! lol

  3. Trout Caviar November 11, 2010 at 10:11 am #

    I second Mellissa’s thought–green bell peppers are not fit for human consumption. As to Kristi’s candidate, American “cheese”…I thought we were talking about food here…?

    I’m one of those for whom cilantro tastes more or less like soap. Since it’s ubiquitous in the southeast Asian and Mexican dishes I love, I’ve learned to tolerate (or remove) it, but I’ll never like it.

    I adore and crave really good raw oysters. Preferably at an oyster bar in Paris, or at a seaside cafe in Brittany, where you can watch them hauling the oysters in from the beds whilst you slurp!

    Brett

    • jen November 11, 2010 at 11:38 am #

      I love how there is no middle ground on cilantro. I love it and would put it in anything. I know lots of people like you though, that are in the “soap” camp.

  4. Fav Sista November 12, 2010 at 9:59 am #

    Okay, so I married into a family of hunters and my kids hunt too – deer. I love venison but they all go gaga over the actual deer heart. They salivate and oooh and aaah. The fresher the better. Even a glimpse of it gives me the heeby geebies. They cook it up and eat it all. I have never allowed even a piece to come close to my mouth. I can’t get past the smell of it. It doesn’t stink, it is just a smell that I do not appreciate. They have learned to fix up their morsel of heart when I am not home – thank goodness!

Leave a comment